Commissioners

The Great Lakes Commission consists of three to five representatives from each of its eight member states. The appointment process varies from one state to the next, but in all cases the state delegations are composed of state legislators, agency officials, and/or governors’ appointees. The chair of each state delegation serves on the Commission’s Board of Directors.

Last updated: 12.5.2014

 

Illinois Commissioners

Marc Miller (Delegation Chair)
Director, Illinois Dept. of Natural Resources
One Natural Resources Way, Springfield, IL  62702
Phone: (217) 785-0075  Email: marc.miller@illinois.gov

Stephanie Comer
Comer Family Foundation
939 W. North Avenue, Suite 850, Chicago, IL 60642
Phone: (312) 274-0546  Email: stephanie@rollingground.com

Joe Deal
Director of External Affairs, Office of the Mayor, City of Chicago
121 North LaSalle, Room 509, Chicago, IL 60602
Phone: (312) 744-0208  Fax: (312) 744-2324  Email: jdeal@cityofchicago.org

Carmen Lonstein
Vice President General Counsel, Clayco Inc.
35 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60601
Phone: (312) 229-6424  Email: lonsteinc@Claycorp.com

Karen May
460 Hazel Ave., Highland Park, IL 60035
Phone: (312) 203-7460  Email: Legislady1@aol.com

Illinois Alternate(s)

Dan Injerd
Manager, Lake Michigan Management Section
Office of Water Resources, Illinois Department of Natural Resources
160 N. LaSalle Street , Suite S-700, Chicago, IL 60601-3117
Phone: (312) 793-3123  Fax: (312) 793-5968  Email: dan.injerd@illinois.gov

Todd Main
Policy Advisor, Chief of Staff, Illinois Department of Natural Resources
One Natural Resources Way, Springfield, IL 62702
Phone: (217) 785-0075 Fax: (217) 782-9236  Email: todd.main@illinois.gov

 

Indiana Commissioners

Jody Peacock (Delegation Chair)
Vice President, Ports of Indiana
150 W. Market St., Suite 100, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 233-6225  Email: jpeacock@portsofindiana.com

Thomas Easterly
Commissioner, Indiana Dept. of Environmental Management
100 N. Senate Ave., IGCN 1301, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 232-8611  Fax: (317) 233-6647 Email: teasterl@idem.in.gov

Steve Fisher
Executive Director, American Great Lakes Ports Association
700 12th Street N.W., Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20005
Phone: (202) 625-2102  Fax: (202) 625-2104  Email: fisher@greatlakesports.org

Kay L. Nelson
Director, Environmental Affairs, Northwest Indiana Forum
6100 Southport Road, Portage, IN 46368
Phone: (219) 763-6303  Fax: (219) 763-2653  Email: knelson@nwiforum.org

Chris Smith
Deputy Director, Indiana Dept. of Natural Resources
402 West Washington St., Room W256, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 232-1557  Email: csmith@dnr.in.gov

Indiana Alternate(s)

John Davis
Deputy Director, Indiana Dept. of Natural Resources
402 W. Washington St., Room W256, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 232-4025  Email: jdavis@dnr.in.gov

Bruno Pigott
Assistant Commissioner, Indiana Department of Environmental Management, Office of Water Quality
100 N. Senate Ave., IGCN 1255, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 233-2550  Email: bpigott@idem.in.gov

 

Michigan Commissioners

Jon W. Allan (Commission Vice Chair, Delegation Chair)
Director, Office of the Great Lakes, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
525 West Allegan Street, Lansing, MI 48933
Phone: (517) 335-4056  Fax: (517) 335-4053  Email: allanj@michigan.gov

Bruce Rasher
Redevelopment Manager, RACER Trust
140 Ashley Mews Drive, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Phone: (269) 274-4980  Email: bruce.rasher@att.net

Hon. Bill Schuette
Attorney General, State of Michigan
G. Mennen Williams Bldg., 7th Fl., 525 W. Ottawa St., P.O. Box 30212, Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 373-1110  Fax: (517) 373-3042  Email: schuetteeb@michigan.gov

Helen Taylor
State Director, The Nature Conservancy
101 E. Grand River Avenue, Lansing, MI 48906
Phone: (517) 316-2261  Fax: (517) 316-9886  Email: htaylor@tnc.org

Hon. Rebekah Warren
State Senator, State of Michigan
415 Farnum Bldg, P.O. Box 30036, Lansing, MI 48909-7536
Phone: (517) 373-2406  Fax: (517) 373-5679  Email: rwarren@senate.michigan.gov

Michigan Alternate(s)

Dr. Roger Eberhardt
Michigan Office of the Great Lakes, Michigan Department of Natural Resources
530 W. Allegan Street, Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 335-4056  Fax: (517) 335-4053  Email: eberhardtr@michigan.gov

S. Peter Manning
Division Chief, Environment, Natural Resources, and Agriculture Division, Department of Attorney General
G. Mennen Williams Building, 6th Floor, 525 W. Ottawa Street, P.O. Box 30755, Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 373-7540  Fax: (517) 373-1610  Email: manningp@michigan.gov

 

Minnesota Commissioners

Lt. Gov. Yvonne Prettner Solon (Delegation Chair)
State of Minnesota
116 Veteran’s Service Building, 20 W. 12th Street, St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (651) 201-3414 Fax: (651) 797-1850 Email: ltgovprettnersolon@state.mn.us

Bob Gunther
State Representative, Minnesota Legislature
277 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (651) 296-3240  Email: rep.bob.gunther@house.mn

Hon. Thomas Huntley, Ph.D.
State Representative, Minnesota Legislature
585 State Office Bldg., St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (651) 296-2228 Fax: (651) 297-2668 Email: rep.thomas.huntley@house.mn

Hon. Ann Rest
State Senator, Minnesota Senate
State Office Bldg., Room 105, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155-1298
Phone: (651) 297-8407  Email: sen.ann.rest@senate.mn

Hon. Carrie Ruud
State Senator, Minnesota Senate
State Office Bldg., Room 25, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155-1206
Phone: (651) 296-4913  Email: Sen.carrie.ruud@senate.mn

(1 Vacancy)

Minnesota Alternate(s)

Dick Lambert
Minnesota Dept. of Transportation
395 John Ireland Blvd., Mail Stop 420, St. Paul, MN  55155-1899
Phone:  (651) 215-6301  Fax: (651) 215-6185  Email:Dick.Lambert@dot.state.mn.us

John Stine
Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
520 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155
Ph: (651) 296-6300 Email: John.Stine@state.mn.us

 

New York Commissioners

Joseph Martens (Delegation Chair)
Commissioner, Office of the Commissioner, New York State Dept. of Environmental Conservation
625 Broadway, Albany, NY  12233-1010
Phone: (518) 402-8540  Fax: (518) 402-8541  Email: joemartens@gw.dec.state.ny.us

Philip Reed
Jefferson County Legislator
42424 NYS Route 12, Alexandria Bay, NY  13607
Phone: (315) 836-7187  Email: philreed@twcny.rr.com

James M. Tierney (Immediate Past Commission Chair)
Assistant Commissioner, Div. of Water Resources, New York State Dept. of Environmental Conservation
625 Broadway, Albany , NY 12233-1010
Phone: (518) 402-8545  Fax: (518) 402-9016  Email: James.Tierney@dec.ny.org

Donald E. Zelazny
Great Lakes Program Coordinator, New York State Dept. of Environmental Conservation
270 Michigan Ave., Buffalo, NY 14203-7134
Phone: (716) 851-7220  Fax: (716) 851-7226  Email: Donald.Zelazny@dec.ny.org

(1 Vacancy)

New York Alternate(s)

None

 

Ohio Commissioners

James Zehringer (Delegation Chair)
Director, Ohio Department of Natural Resources
2045 Morse Rd., Columbus, Ohio 43229
Phone: (614) 265-6879  Fax: (614) 261-9601 Mobile: (614) 357-7803 Email: james.zehringer@dnr.state.oh.us

Craig W. Butler
Director, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
P.O. Box 1049, 50 West Town Street, Suite 700
Columbus, OH 43215-1049
Phone: (614)-644-2782  Fax: (614)-644-3184  Email: craig.butler@epa.ohio.gov

Hon. John Eklund
State Senator, Ohio Senate
Room 128, 1 Capitol Square, 1st Floor, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: (614) 644-7718  Email: eklund@ohiosenate.gov

James H. I. Weakley
President, Lake Carriers’ Association
Suite 720, 20325 Center Ridge Road, Rocky River, OH 44116-3508
Phone: (440) 333-9995  Fax: (440) 333-9993  Email: weakley@lcaships.com

(1 Vacancy)

Ohio Alternate(s)

Michael Bailey
Chief, Division of Soil and Water Resources, Ohio Department of Natural Resources
2045 Morse Rd., Building B-3 Columbus, OH 43229
Phone: (614) 265-6618 Fax: (614) 262-2064  Email: Michael.bailey@dnr.state.oh.us

John D. Baker
President – Great Lakes District Council, International Longshoremen’s Association, AFL-CIO
103 Erieside Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44114
Phone: (216) 781-7816  Fax: (216) 781-7818  Email: jbakerjr3737@aol.com

Karl Gebhardt
Deputy Director, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
P.O. Box 1049, 50 West Town Street, Suite 700
Columbus, OH 43215-1049
Phone: (614) 644-2782  Fax: (614) 644-3184  Email: karl.gebhardt@epa.ohio.gov

Gail Hesse
Executive Director, The Ohio Lake Erie Commission
111 E. Shoreline Drive, Sandusky, Ohio 44870
Phone: 419-621-2040  Fax: 419-621-2042  Email: Gail.Hesse@lakeerie.ohio.gov

 

Pennsylvania Commissioners

Kelvin Burch  (Commission Chair, Delegation Chair)
Executive Director, Oil and Gas Operations, Pennsylvania Dept. of Environmental Protection
230 Chestnut Street, Meadville, PA  16335-3481
Phone: (814) 332-6352  Fax: (814) 332-6125  Email: keburch@pa.gov

Robert W. Light, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean, Penn State Behrend
4701 College Drive, Erie, PA 16563
Phone: (814) 898-6160  Fax: (814) 898-6461  Email: rw12@psu.edu

Pat Lupo, OSB
Education Director, Earth Action
301 Pennsula Drive, Suite 5, Erie, PA  16505
Phone: (814) 835-8069  Fax: (814) 835-8469  Email: plupo@neighborhoodarthouse.org

Pennsylvania Alternate(s)

Lori A. Boughton
Environmental Program Manager, Watershed Management, Pennsylvania Dept. of Environmental Protection
230 Chestnut Street, Meadville, PA 16335
Phone: (814) 332-6984  Fax: (814) 332-6117  Email: lboughton@state.pa.us

Herb Packer
Associate Director, Executive Director, Office of PennPORTS, Department of Community & Economic Development
4th Fl, Commonwealth Keystone Bldg., Harrisburg, PA 17105-2063
Phone: (717) 720-7448  Email: hpacker@pa.govWisconsin Commissioners

 

Wisconsin Commissioners

Russell Rasmussen (Delegation Chair)
Administrator, Water Division, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
101 South Webster Street – AD/8, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53703
Phone: (608) 261-7599  Fax: (608) 266-6983 Email: Russell.Rasmussen@wisconsin.gov

Lynn Dufrane
Senior Vice President, Nicolet National Bank
N1420 Shore Drive, Marinette, WI 54143
Phone: (715) 732-2695  Email: ldufrane@nicoletbank.com

Dean Haen
Director, Port of Green Bay
2561 S. Broadway St., Green Bay, WI 54304
Phone: 920-492-4953  Email: Haen_dr@co.brown.wi.us

Kenneth G. Johnson, Retired (Commission Immediate Past Chair)
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

 

Wisconsin Alternate(s)

Steve Galarneau
Director, Office of the Great Lakes, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
101 S. Webster Street, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53702-7921
Phone: (608) 266-1956  Email: Stephen.Galarneau@wisconsin.gov

© Great Lakes Commission  |  2805 S. Industrial Hwy Suite 100  Ann Arbor, MI 48104-6791  | Directions

tel: 734-971-9135  |  fax: 734-971-9150  |  Staff directory | Site map