Observers

The following lists the Observers of the Great Lakes Commission.

Last updated: 4.9.2014

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Natural Resource Conservation Service
Terry Cosby, State Conservationist
200 North High Street, Room 52, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: (614)255-2472  Email: Terry.Cosby@oh.usda.gov

Alternates

Gary Lee, State Conservationist
3001 Coolidge Road, Ste. 250, East Lansing, MI. 48823-6350
Phone: (517) 324-5277  Fax : (517) 324-5171  Email: Garry.Lee@mi.usda.gov

Michael Moorman, National GLRI Coordinator
1400 Independence Ave SW, Room 5213-S, Washington, DC 20250
Phone: (202) 205-7703 Fax: (202) 690-2257  Email: michael.moorman@wdc.usda.gov

U.S. Department of Commerce

NOAA/GLERL: National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration:
Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory
John Bratton, Acting Director, Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory
4840 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-9719
Phone: (734) 741-2019  Fax: (734) 741-2003  Email: john.bratton@noaa.gov

NOAA/OCRM: National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration:
Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management
Margaret Davidson, Acting Director, Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management
1305 East-West Hwy., Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: (301) 713-3155 x123  Fax: (301) 713-4012  Email: Margaret.Davidson@noaa.gov

Sea Grant
Dr. Jeffrey M. Reutter, Director, Ohio Sea Grant, The Ohio State University
1314 Kinnear Rd., Area 100, Columbus, OH 43212-1156
Phone: 614-292-8949  Fax: 614-292-4364  Email: Reutter.1@osu.edu

U.S. Department of Defense

U.S. Army Corps Of Engineers
Jan Miller, Environmental Engineer, Great Lakes and Ohio River Division
231 South LaSalle Street, Suite 1500, Chicago, IL 60604-1437
Ph: (312) 846-5347  Fax: (312) 353-5439  Email: jan.a.miller@usace.army.mil

U.S. Department of Energy
Ihor Hlohowskyj, Ph.D., Ecologist, Natural Resource Systems and Integrated Assessments, Environmental Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory
9700 South Cass Avenue, Bldg. 240, Argonne, IL  60439-4847
Phone: (630) 252-3478  Fax: (630) 252-6090  Email: ihor@anl.gov

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

U.S. Coast Guard
RADM Fred Midgette, Commander, Ninth Coast Guard District
1240 East Ninth St., Room 2081, Cleveland, OH 44199-2060
Ph: (216) 902-6001  Fax: (216) 902-6059  Email: Fred.Midgette@uscg.mil

Alternate

Lorne W. Thomas, Government Affairs Officer, Ninth Coast Guard District
1240 East Ninth Street, Cleveland, OH 44199-2060
Phone: (216) 902-6022  Fax: (216) 902-6027  Email: lorne.w.thomas@uscg.mil

U.S. Department of the Interior

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Craig Czarnecki, Assistant Regional Director, Science Applications Midwest Region
2651 Coolidge Rd., Suite 101, East Lansing, MI 48823
Phone: (517) 351-8470  Email: craig_czarnecki@fws.gov

U.S. Geological Survey
Russell M. Strach, Center Director, Great Lakes Science Center
1451 Green Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48105
Phone: (734) 214-7200  Fax: (734) 214-7238  Email: rstrach@usgs.gov

Alternate

Norman G. Granneman, Coordinator, Great Lakes Program, U.S. Geological Survey
6520 Mercantile Way, Suite 5, Lansing, MI 48911
Ph: (517) 887-8936  Fax: (517) 887-8937  Email: nggranne@usgs.gov

National Park Service
Martin Sterkel, Associate Regional Director, Natural Resource Stewardship & Science, Midwest Region
601 Riverfront Dr., Omaha, NE 68102
Phone: (402) 661-1536  Fax: (402) 661-1982  Email: Marty_Sterkel@nps.gov

U.S. Department of Transportation

St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corp
Craig H. Middlebrook, Acting Administrator
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Suite W32-300, Washington, DC 20590
Phone: (202) 366-0091  Fax: (202) 366-7147  Email: Craig.Middlebrook@sls.dot.gov

Maritime Administration
Floyd Miras, Director, Great Lakes Gateway
500 West Madison Street, Suite 1110, Chicago, IL 60661
Ph: (312) 353-1032  Fax: (312) 353-1036  Email: Floyd.Miras@dot.gov

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Chris Korleski, Director, Great Lakes National Program Office
77 W. Jackson Blvd.- G17J, Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: (312) 353-2117  Fax: (312) 353-2018  Email: Korleski.Christopher@epamail.epa.gov

Canadian Government (Federal)

Sabrina Dadrian-Kassabian, Program Officer, Environment and Energy, Canadian Embassy
501 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001
Phone: 202-448-6313  Fax: 202-682-7792  Email: Sabrina.dadrian-kassabian@international.gc.ca

Great Lakes Fishery Commission

Bob Lambe, Executive Secretary
2100 Commonwealth Blvd., Suite 209, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-1563
Phone: (734) 669-3209  Fax: (734) 741-2010  Email: blambe@glfc.org

International Joint Commission

Stephen Locke, Director. Great Lakes Regional Office
Canadian Address: 100 Ouellette Ave, 8th Floor, Windsor, ONT N9A 6T3
U.S. Address: P.O. Box 32869, Detroit, MI 48232
Canadian Ph: (519) 257-6715  Fax: (519) 257-6740,  U.S. Ph: 313-266-2170 Email: lockes@windsor.ijc.org

Council of Great Lakes Governors

David Naftzger, Executive Director
20 North Wacker Drive, Suite 2700, Chicago, IL 60606
Ph: (312) 407-0177  Fax: (312) 407-0038  Email: dnaftzger@cglg.org

Coastal States Organization

Mary Munson, Executive Director
Hall of the States, Suite 322, 444 North Capitol St., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001
Ph: (202) 508-3861  Fax: (202) 508-3843  Email: mmunson@coastalstates.org

Alliance for the Great Lakes

Joel Brammeier, President and CEO
150 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 700, Chicago, Il 60601
Ph: (312) 445-9727  Fax: (312) 939-2708  Email: jbrammeier@greatlakes.org

Council of Great Lakes Industries

Kathryn Buckner, President
3600 Green Court, Suite 700, Ann Arbor, MI 48105
Ph: (734) 663-1944  Fax: (734) 663-2424  Email: kabuckner@cgli.org

Ducks Unlimited

Gildo M. Tori, Director of Public Policy, Great Lakes/Atlantic Regional Office
1220 Eisenhower Place, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Ph: (734) 623-2000  Fax: (734) 623-2035  Email: gtori@ducks.org

Great Lakes Environmental Law Center

Nick Schroeck, Attorney
440 Burroughs Street, Suite 120, Box 70, Detroit, MI 48202
Phone: (313) 820-7797  Email: nschroeck@wayne.edu

Great Lakes Observing System

Jennifer Read, Executive Director
229 Nickels Arcade, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Ph: (734) 332-6101  Fax: (734) 332-6120  Email: jread@glos.us

John G. Shedd Aquarium

Michelle Parker, Vice President, Great Lakes and Sustainability John G. Shedd Aquarium
1200 South Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone: (312) 692-3191  Email: mparker@sheddaquarium.org

Alternate

Jim Robinett, Senior Vice President, External Regulatory Affairs, Shedd Aquarium
1200 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone: (312) 692-3235  Fax: (312) 939-4312  Email: jrobinett@sheddaquarium.org

National Association Of Conservation Districts

Donald Lloyd, Chair, Great Lakes Committee, McHenry-Lake County Soil and Water Conservation District
1648 South Eastwood Drive, Woodstock, IL 60098-4655
Phone: (815) 338-0099  Fax: (815) 338-7731  Email: donlloyd@sbcglobal.net

Chippewa/Ottawa Resource Authority

Mike Ripley, Environmental Coordinator
Albert LeBlanc Bldg., 179 W. Three Mile Rd., Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone: (906) 632-0072  Fax: (906) 632-1141  Email: mripley@sault.com

Helsinki Commission

Monika Stankiewicz, Executive Secretary
Katajanokanlaituri 6 B, FI-00160 Helsinki, Finland
Ph: +358 207 412 649  Fax: +358 207 412 645  Email: monika.stankiewicz@helcom.fi

The Nature Conservancy

Richard Bowman, Director of Government Relations
Policy Lead, Great Lakes Project, 101 E. Grand River Avenue, Lansing, MI 48906
Ph: (517) 316-2267  Fax: (517) 316-9886  Email: rich_bowman@TNC.org

National Wildlife Federation

Andy Buchsbaum, Director
213 W. Liberty #200, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Phone: (734) 887-7100  Email: buchsbaum@nwf.org

Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative

David Ullrich, Executive Director
20 N. Wacker Drive, Suite 2700, Chicago, IL 60606
Ph: (312) 201-4516  Fax: (312) 407-0038  Email: david.ullrich@glslcities.org

 

 

© Great Lakes Commission  |  2805 S. Industrial Hwy Suite 100  Ann Arbor, MI 48104-6791  | Directions

tel: 734-971-9135  |  fax: 734-971-9150  |  Staff directory | Site map