Granholm appoints new Commissioners

Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm has appointed two new members of the Great Lakes Commission, naming Lt. Gov. John Cherry and former state Sen. Ken DeBeaussaert, director of the Office of the Great Lakes, as Commissioners.

They join state Atty. Gen. Mike Cox and state Sen. Patty Birkholz as members of the Michigan delegation. One final appointment to the delegation, to be made by the speaker of the Michigan House of Representatives, is pending.

2003-john-cherry2003-ken-debeaussaertA 20-year veteran of the Michigan legislature, Cherry served two terms in the House of Representatives before being elected to the Michigan Senate in 1986. He was Senate Democratic Leader from 1995 until his election as Lt. Governor last year. DeBeaussaert served 10 years in the state House, and in the Michigan Senate from 1995-2002.


For immediate release: September 4, 2003
Contact: Michael Donahue,, office: 734-971-9135


The Great Lakes Commission, chaired by Samuel W. Speck (Ohio), is a nonpartisan, binational compact agency created by state and U.S. federal law and dedicated to promoting a strong economy, healthy environment and high quality of life for the Great Lakes – St. Lawrence region and its residents. The Commission consists of state legislators, agency officials, and governors’ appointees from its eight member states.Associate membership for Ontario and Québec was established through the signing of a “Declaration of Partnership.” The Commission maintains a formal Observer programinvolving U.S. and Canadian federal agencies, tribal authorities, binational agencies and other regional interests. The Commission offices are located in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

© Great Lakes Commission  |  2805 S. Industrial Hwy Suite 100  Ann Arbor, MI 48104-6791  | Directions

tel: 734-971-9135  |  fax: 734-971-9150  |  Staff directory | Site map

Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook GLIN Partner The binational commissions of the Great Lakes region