2007 Carol A. Ratza Memorial Scholarship Winner

To recognize outstanding achievement and vision in electronic communications technology

2007-carol-ratza-scholarshipLaura Valdmanis, a freshman at Hobart and William Smith College in Geneva, N.Y., is the recipient of the 2007 Carol A. Ratza Memorial Scholarship. A native of Prior Lake, Minn., Valdmanis is pursuing a double major in earth science and mathematics. She is cited as role model by her fellow students and community members because of her knowledge, dedication and enthusiasm, especially pertaining to political, cultural and environmental causes.

About the Carol A. Ratza Memorial Scholarship 
The Ratza Scholarship was established in 1998 in memory of Carol A. Ratza who directed the Commission’s Communications Program from 1986-1997. The competition is open to high school seniors and returning students enrolled full-time at a Great Lakes college or university. For details or to contribute to the scholarship fund, seewww.glc.org/about/scholarships or contact Christine Manninen, manninen@glc.org.

For immediate release: June 6, 2007
Contact: Christine Manninen, manninen@glc.org, office: 734-971-9135

© Great Lakes Commission  |  2805 S. Industrial Hwy Suite 100  Ann Arbor, MI 48104-6791  | Directions

tel: 734-971-9135  |  fax: 734-971-9150  |  Staff directory | Site map

Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook GLIN Partner The binational commissions of the Great Lakes region