Commission welcomes guests from Tianjin, China

Ann Arbor, Mich. – On Aug. 30, 2011, the Great Lakes Commission welcomed guests from Tianjin, China. The six-member delegation included Deputy Secretary Xuegang Hou and a team of planners from the Tianjin Planning Bureau and the Tianjin Urban Planning and Design Institute. Commission staff who participated and helped to coordinate the event included Christine Manninen, Dave Knight, John Hummer, Heather Braun, and Tianjin native Guan Wang.The Tianjin planners are focused on development and planning of the Bohai Rim Megalopolis in northern China, which includes the cities of Beijing and Tianjin and a total population of more than 240 million people (17.8% of China’s population). See related Powerpoint slides.


For immediate release: August 30, 2011
Contact: Christine Manninen,, office: 734-971-9135


The Great Lakes Commission, chaired by James Tierney, assistant commissioner for water resources at the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, is an interstate compact agency established under state and U.S. federal law and dedicated to promoting a strong economy, healthy environment and high quality of life for the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence region and its residents. The Commission consists of governors’ appointees, state legislators, and agency officials from its eight member states. Associate membership for Ontario and Québec was established through the signing of a “Declaration of Partnership.” The Commission maintains a formal Observer program involving U.S. and Canadian federal agencies, tribal authorities, binational agencies and other regional interests. The Commission offices are located in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Learn more at

© Great Lakes Commission  |  2805 S. Industrial Hwy Suite 100  Ann Arbor, MI 48104-6791  | Directions

tel: 734-971-9135  |  fax: 734-971-9150  |  Staff directory | Site map

Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook GLIN Partner The binational commissions of the Great Lakes region