SPAC Members and Alternates

The SPAC is a coalition of representatives from the 14 community-based public advisory councils that are guiding cleanup efforts in Michigan’s 14 AOCs. For corrections or updates to this list, please contact Matt Doss, SPAC Support Staff, Great Lakes Commission, mdoss@glc.org, 734-971-9135.

Clinton River

Member: Anne Vaara
Executive Director
Clinton River Watershed Council
1115 W. Avon Rd.
Rochester Hills, MI 48309
248-601-0606
anne@crwc.org

Alternate: Vacant

Local Information: Clinton River Watershed Council

Deer Lake

Member: Diane Feller, Chair
Deer Lake Public Advisory Council
490 Deer Lake Road
Ishpeming, MI 49849
906-486-9967
dkfeller@aol.com

Alternate: Pete Nault
Deer Lake Public Advisory Council
49 Chilman Lane
Ishpeming, MI 49849
906-486-8990
naultpa@att.net

Detroit River

Member: Mary Bohling, SPAC Chair
MI Sea Grant Extension Educator
Southeast Michigan
640 Temple, 6th Floor
Detroit, MI 48201-2558
313-833-3275
313-410-9431
bohling@msu.edu

Alternate: Jane Mackey
Detroit River Public Advisory Council
30952 Island
Gibraltar, MI 48173
734-675-4861
jtm48173@yahoo.com

Local Information: Friends of the Detroit River

Kalamazoo River

Member: Jamie McCarthy
Kalamazoo River Watershed Council
408 E. Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
269-978-4606
krwc@kalamazooriver.org

Alternate: Stephen K. Hamilton
President
Kalamazoo River Watershed Council
Kellogg Biological Station
3700 E. Gull Lake Drive
Hickory Corners, MI 49060-9516
269-671-2231
hamilton@kbs.msu.edu

Local Information: Kalamazoo River Watershed Council

Manistique River

Member: Corey Barr
Water/Wastewater Superintendent
City of Manistique
300 N. Maple Street
Manistique, MI 49854
906-341-2281
water@mstq-water.com

Alternate: Sheila Aldrich
Manistique City Manager
300 N. Maple Street
Manistique, MI 49854
906-341-2290
saldrich@chartermi.net

Menominee River

Member: Mark S. Erickson, Michigan Co-chair
Menominee River Area of Concern Citizens Advisory Committee
Menominee, MI

Steve Zander, Wisconsin Co-chair
Menominee River Area of Concern Citizens Advisory Committee
Peshtigo, WI

Alternate: John Groleau
Menominee River Area of Concern Citizens Advisory Committee
Menominee, MI

Muskegon Lake

Member: Kathy Evans
Muskegon Lake Watershed Partnership
West Michigan Shoreline Regional Development Commission
316 Morris Ave., Suite 340
P.O. Box 387
Muskegon, MI 49443-0387
231-722-7878, Ext. 17
kevans@wmsrdc.org

Alternate: Cynthia Price
Chair
Muskegon Lake Watershed Partnership
Editor, Norton-Lakeshore Examiner
950 W. Norton Ave., Suite 402
Muskegon, MI 49441
231-578-0873 or 231-739-6397
skyprice@gmail.com

Local Information: Muskegon Lake Watershed Partnership

River Raisin

Member: Richard Micka
River Raisin Public Advisory Council
47 E. Elm Ave.
Monroe, MI 48162-2648
734-242-0909
rgm@core.com

Alternate: Donald Link
Director of Water Utilities
Frenchtown Charter Township
310 E. Elm Ave.
Monroe, MI 481621
734-289-1015
donlink@netzero.net

Local Information: City of Monroe

Rouge River

Member: Bill Craig
Chair
Rouge RAP Advisory Council
20050 Milburn
Livonia, MI 48152
248-476-5127
envirowhc@sbcglobal.net

Alternate: Noel Mullet
Wayne County Department of Environment
Water Quality Division – Watershed Management Section
3600 Commerce Court, Building E
Wayne, MI 48184
734-326-4486
Nmullett@co.wayne.mi.us

Local Information: Alliance of Rouge Communities

Saginaw River/Bay

Member: Dennis Zimmerman
Partnership for the Saginaw Bay Watershed
P.O. Box 325
Lake George, MI 48633-0325
989-588-9343
denniszimm@charter.net

Alternate: Warren Smith, Vice Chair
Partnership for the Saginaw Bay Watershed
1817 Center Ave.
Bay City, MI 48708
989-892-5649
wfesmith@sbcglobal.net

St. Clair River

Member: Patricia Troy
St. Clair River Binational Public Advisory Council
6318 Rynn Road
North Street, MI 48049
810-984-9775
pjtroy2004@yahoo.com

Alternate: Paulette Duhaime
St. Clair River Binational Public Advisory Council
9386 N. River Rd
Algonac, MI 48001
810-794-3390
lduhaimep@arenet.net

Local Information: Friends of the St. Clair River Watershed and Friends of the St. Clair River Canada

St. Marys River

Member: Mike Ripley
St. Marys River Binational Public Advisory Council
Chippewa Ottawa Resource Authority
Albert LeBlanc Bldg.
179 West Three Mile Rd.
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
906-632-0072
mripley@sault.com

Alternate: Greg Zimmerman
St. Marys River Binational Public Advisory Council
Gale Gleason Institute
Lake Superior State University
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
906-635-2470
gzimmerman@gw.lssu.edu

Local Information: St. Marys River Binational Public Advisory Council

Torch Lake

Member: James Trevethan
Torch Lake Public Action Council
17463 Osma Plat Rd.
Houghton, MI 49931
906-482-4951

Alternate: Dan Lorenzetti
Torch Lake Public Action Council
P.O. Box 6
Houghton, MI 49931
906-482-2731
dlorenzetti@chartermi.net

White Lake

Member: Tanya Cabala, SPAC Vice Chair
Great Lakes Consulting
714 Alice Street
Whitehall, MI 49461
231-981-0016
tcabala@charter.net

Alternate: Norm Ullman
9403 Silver Creek Rd.
Whitehall, MI 49461
231-670-5504 (cell)
nullman524@aol.com

Local Information: White Lake Public Advisory Council

© Great Lakes Commission  |  2805 S. Industrial Hwy Suite 100  Ann Arbor, MI 48104-6791  |  Directions via Google Maps

tel: 734-971-9135  |  fax: 734-971-9150  |  Staff directory | Site map