Calendar of Cleanup Events

April 2013

Project Name: Flint River Clean Up
Event Date: April 27th
Watershed: Flint River and tributaries
County: Genesee
Contact: Amy McMillan, Genesee County Parks and Recreation Commission, Ph: (810) 736-7100, amcmillan@gcparks.org

May 2013

Project Name: Headwaters River Clean-up Project
Event Date: May 11th (with additional dates in June, July, and August – see below)
Watershed: St. Joseph River, Kalamazoo River, Grand River, and the River Raisin
County: Hillsdale, Jackson
Contact: Jessica Luck, Hillsdale Conservation District,
Ph: (517) 849-9890, jessica.luck@mi.nacdnet.net

June 2013

Project Name: A2 Keeping the River Clean
Event Date: June – October (ongoing)
Watershed: Huron River
County: Washtenaw
Contact: Cheryl Saam, City of Ann Arbor Parks and Recreation Services, Ph: (734) 794-6240, csaam@a2gov.org

Project Name: River Cleanup Project 2013
Event Date: June 1st and 15th (with additional dates in July, August, and September – see below)
Watershed: Prairie, Fawn, Rocky, and White Pigeon Rivers, and Nottawa Creek
County: St. Joseph
Contact: Jen Miller, St. Joseph County Conservation District, Ph: (269) 467-6336, jen.miller@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: Headwaters River Clean-up Project
Event Date: June 1st and 29th (with additional dates in July and August – see below)
Watershed: St. Joseph River, Kalamazoo River, Grand River, and the River Raisin
County: Hillsdale, Jackson
Contact: Jessica Luck, Hillsdale Conservation District,
Ph: (517) 849-9890, jessica.luck@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: 9th Annual Boardman River Clean Sweep
Event Date: June 8th (and July 5th)
Watershed: Boardman River
County: Grand TraverseContact: Steve Largent, Grand Traverse Conservation District, Ph: (231) 941-0960, slargent@gtcd.org

Project Name: River Raisin Rubbish Removal
Event Date: June 13th
Watershed: River Raisin
County: Monroe
Contact: Tim Kwiatkowski, Monroe Conservation District, Ph: (734) 241-7755, timothy.kwiatkowski@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: Pere Marquette Paddle Down-River Cleanup
Event Date: June 22nd and 23rd
Watershed: Pere Marquette River
County: Mason
Contact: Jordan DeVries, Mason-Lake Conservation District, Ph: (231) 757-3708, jordan.devries@macd.org

July 2013

Project Name: A2 Keeping the River Clean
Event Date: June – October (ongoing)
Watershed: Huron River
County: Washtenaw
Contact: Cheryl Saam, City of Ann Arbor Parks and Recreation Services, Ph: (734) 794-6240, csaam@a2gov.org

Project Name: 9th Annual Boardman River Clean Sweep
Event Date: July 5th
Watershed: Boardman River
County: Grand Traverse
Contact: Steve Largent, Grand Traverse Conservation District, Ph: (231) 941-0960, slargent@gtcd.org

Project Name: Portage River Volunteer Cleanup
Event Date: July 13th
Watershed: Portage River
County: Jackson
Contact: Geoffrey Snyder, Jackson County Drain Commissioner, Ph: (517) 788-4398, gsnyder@co.jackson.mi.us

Project Name: River Cleanup Project 2013
Event Date: July 13th and 27th (with additional dates in August and September – see below)
Watershed: Prairie, Fawn, Rocky, and White Pigeon Rivers, and Nottawa Creek
County: St. Joseph
Contact: Jen Miller, St. Joseph County Conservation District, Ph: (269) 467-6336, jen.miller@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: Manistique River Clean Up
Event Date: July 20th
Watershed: Manistique River
County: Schoolcraft
Contact: Omer Doran, Germfask Township, Ph: (906) 586-9697

Project Name: 5th Annual Cass River Cleanup
Event Date: July 20th
Watershed: Cass River
County: Tuscola
Contact: Jim Kratz, Tuscola Conservation District, Ph: (989) 673-8174, jim.kratz@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: Headwaters River Clean-up Project
Event Date: July 20th (with additional dates in August – see below)
Watershed: St. Joseph River, Kalamazoo River, Grand River, and the River Raisin
County: Hillsdale, Jackson
Contact: Jessica Luck, Hillsdale Conservation District, Ph: (517) 849-9890, jessica.luck@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: 16th Annual Shiawassee River Clean-up
Event Date: July 27th
Watershed: Shiawassee River
County: Shiawassee
Contact: Larry Johnson, Shiawassee County Health Dept., Ph: (989) 743-2392, ljohnson@shiawassee.net

August 2013

Project Name: A2 Keeping the River Clean
Event Date: June – October (ongoing)
Watershed: Huron River
County: Washtenaw
Contact: Cheryl Saam, City of Ann Arbor Parks and Recreation Services, Ph: (734) 794-6240, csaam@a2gov.org

Project Name: River Rescue 2013
Event Date: August 3rd
Watershed: Black and Paw Paw River, adjoining creeks/streams, and Hickory Creek
County: Van Buren, Berrien
Contact: AJ Brucks, Van Buren Conservation District,
Ph: (269) 657-4030, alison.brucks@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: River Cleanup Project 2013
Event Date: August 10th and 24th (with additional dates in September – see below)
Watershed: Prairie, Fawn, Rocky, and White Pigeon Rivers, and Nottawa Creek
County: St. Joseph
Contact: Jen Miller, St. Joseph County Conservation District, Ph: (269) 467-6336, jen.miller@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: Headwaters River Clean-up Project
Event Date: August 24th
Watershed: St. Joseph River, Kalamazoo River, Grand River, and the River Raisin
County: Hillsdale, Jackson
Contact: Jessica Luck, Hillsdale Conservation District, Ph: (517) 849-9890, jessica.luck@mi.nacdnet.net

September 2013

Project Name: A2 Keeping the River Clean
Event Date: June – October (ongoing)
Watershed: Huron River
County: Washtenaw
Contact: Cheryl Saam, City of Ann Arbor Parks and Recreation Services, Ph: (734) 794-6240, csaam@a2gov.org

Project Name: Rogue River Cleanup
Event Date: September 7th
Watershed: Rogue River
County: Kent
Contact: Connie Redding, Kent Conservation District, Ph: (616) 942-4111, administrator@kentconservation.org

Project Name: River Cleanup Project 2013
Event Date: September 7th
Watershed: Prairie, Fawn, Rocky, and White Pigeon Rivers, and Nottawa Creek
County: St. Joseph
Contact: Jen Miller, St. Joseph County Conservation District, Ph: (269) 467-6336, jen.miller@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: Macatawa River Volunteer Cleanup
Event Date: September 7th
Watershed: Macatawa River
County: Ottawa
Contact: Kelly Goward, Macatawa Area Coordinating Council, Ph: (616) 395-2688, kgoward@the-macc.org

Project Name: 18th Annual Thornapple River Clean Up
Event Date: September 14th
Watershed: Thornapple and Coldwater Rivers
County: Barry, Kent, and Eaton
Contact: Joanne Barnard, Barry Conservation District, Ph: (269) 948-8056, joanne.barnard@mi.nacdnet.net

Project Name: Muskegon River Cleanup
Event Date: September 14th
Watershed: Muskegon River
County: Osceola
Contact: Mark Wilson, City of Evart, Ph: (231) 734-2181, evartparksandrec@gmail.com

Project Name: Mayors’ Grand River Clean Up
Event Date: September 14th
Watershed: Grand River and tributaries
County: Kent and Ottawa
Contact: Michael Lunn, City of Grand Rapids, Ph: (616) 456-3914, mlunn@grcity.us

Project Name: Klean the Kazoo
Event Date: September 28th
Watershed: Kalamazoo River
County: CalhounContact: Tracy Bronson, Calhoun Conservation District, Ph: (269) 781-4867, tracy.bronson@macd.org

October 2013

Project Name: A2 Keeping the River Clean
Event Date: June – October (ongoing)
Watershed: Huron River
County: Washtenaw
Contact: Cheryl Saam, City of Ann Arbor Parks and Recreation Services, Ph: (734) 794-6240, csaam@a2gov.org

Project Name: 9th Annual River Cleanup Day
Event Date: October 5th
Watershed: Butternut Creek and Battle Creek River
County: Eaton
Contact: Keith Moss, City of Charlotte, Ph: (517) 543-8860, kmoss@charlottemi.org

Project Name: 2013 Global Citizens River Conservation Day
Event Date: October 5th
Watershed: Battle Creek and Kalamazoo Rivers, and Brickyard Creek
County: Calhoun
Contact: Charles Kohs, City of Battle Creek, Ph: (269) 966-3343, ckohs@battlecreekmi.gov

© Great Lakes Commission  |  2805 S. Industrial Hwy Suite 100  Ann Arbor, MI 48104-6791  |  Directions via Google Maps

tel: 734-971-9135  |  fax: 734-971-9150  |  Staff directory | Site map